Marble City Opera Sets 2014-15 Season

One of Knoxville’s more intriguing arts start-ups has been the chamber opera organization, Marble City Opera, now poised to start its second season. While Kevin Doherty, the founding General Director of the company, has stepped away to focus on his performance career, the founding Artistic Director, Kathryn Frady Marvel, has proceeded with planning for an interesting season of three major events.

The company will begin on October 30 and November 1 at the Square Room with two world premieres by contemporary American composer Larry Delinger: Talk To Me Like the Rain and Amelia Lost.  Talk To Me Like the Rain stars Daniel Webb and Krista Wilhemsen. Amelia Lost will feature Kathryn Frady Marvel as Amelia.

Although the venues have not been selected for the remainder of the season, a January production will be the Tennessee premiere of La Femme Boheme in collaboration with the opera blog-azine Sexi Soprano. La Femme Boheme is a take on Puccini’s La Boheme and will feature Linda Barnett as Rodolfo and Sexi Soprano Editor in Chief, Jenny Beauregard as Mimi.

A spring production will be Gershwin’s little-known one act jazz opera Blue Monday.

Single Tickets on Sale Now for KSO Season

In roughly one month, the 2014-15 Knoxville Symphony Orchestra season gets under way—a season that, as I have previously indicated, promises to be notable  and definitely entertaining. This is the last season in Knoxville for Maestro Lucas Richman, a tenure that has seen the orchestra make remarkable strides in performance quality, reaching a level of playing much greater than one would expect in a city of Knoxville’s size. The season itself will see a number of guest conductors in the Masterworks Series (Thursday/Friday evenings) as well as an expansion and growth in the other performance series. And most importantly, ticket prices should no longer be an obstacle for any KSO performance–tickets start at $15. Single tickets went on sale yesterday.

Pianist Jon Kimura Parker Opens 2014-15 KSO Season
Pianist Jon Kimura Parker Opens 2014-15 KSO Season

The opening Masterworks concert comes on Thursday and Friday, September 18-19, 7:30 p.m. at the Tennessee Theatre. That concert will offer a range of works, starting with contemporary American composer Michael Torke’s Bright Blue Music. The concert also includes Hindemith’s marvelous Symphonic Metamorphosis and Brahms Piano Concerto No. 1 with guest pianist Jon Kimura Parker. Richman conducts.

Tickets at or KSO office 865-291-3310


KSO 2014-15 Single Tickets on Sale August 18

The Knoxville Symphony Orchestra‘s 2014-15 season begins next month and it will be a notable one for several reasons. The season will be the last one for Maestro Lucas Richman in Knoxville and will begin the conductor search for his replacement. Although subscriptions have been available since the spring and are still available, single tickets for the season’s concerts go on sale on Monday, August 18 for all of the series–the Masterworks, the Chamber Classics, the Concertmaster Series, and the new Q-Series of Wednesday noontime lunch/concerts at the Square Room downtown.

The Concertmaster Series–in its third season–will be in its new home at the Knoxville Museum of Art. It promises to be nothing if not intriguing and entertaining. Check out Gabriel Lefkowitz’s YouTube video preview of the series.

Alan Sherrod serves up a big plate of nourishing commentary on the Knoxville classical music and fine arts scene.